PDA

View Full Version : Forgeworld, where to start?

Not Applicable
29-12-2014, 03:28
Hey guys I just discovered forgeworld stuff. Im new to table top gaming and only bought my first warhammer 40k thing in October before that I'd never heard of anything to do with the background or build up to 7th ed.

So I got a multimelta arm for my dreadnought in the mail today and I found a fw catalog in the box. Im half way through it and I just think I might need to find out more about these new land raiders and other things. Could someone tell me which book contains the 7th ed rules for the 40k stuff?

mightymconeshot
29-12-2014, 03:30
What army do you have? What are you looking for? Background? Or simply rules? What is your gaming group like? Do they allow forgeworld or is it only GW books?

Not Applicable
29-12-2014, 04:09
I have a dark angels army and my group just have GW stuff at the moment but I showed them a sheet on the mortis pattern dreadnought and they were fine with it but I decided to go with a mm/pf venerable deathwing dreadnought instead. So I figure if they were open to that maybe they'd be keen to use other fw models, like the different land raiders and such. I have about eight horus hersey books which they lent me and im part way through the first book so I figure I'll have all the background info I need soon as I read them. I was after a codex type book for fw marines/dark angels.

HelloKitty
29-12-2014, 04:12
Fire raptors are fun.

Tarrell
29-12-2014, 04:13
Slow down buddy. Yes Forgeworld is great, thought think of their stuff as advanced, I've played this game for close to 13 years and never ordered Forgeworld models.
You'll notice they cater for pre-40k models/ Heresy and the great betrayal erra. Also their Space marines and Terminators are taller than GW models.

I highly recommend you first just buy a book and read through the story/fluff.