PDA

View Full Version : Warpfire Thrower Stand and Shoot



Ellecis
02-01-2015, 19:46
One ambiguity that has come up several times in games I play is in regards to the Skaven Warpfire Thrower stand and shoot reaction. How exactly is this resolved?

Do you roll to fire the warpfire thrower once the charge is declared, or do you move the chargers into the maximum range of the warpfire thrower before rolling to fire? If so, does that mean you have to roll the maximum range on the artillery dice to hit the unit? Or do you move the charges into a medium distance, say 10" and resolve from there? This is something that has always perplexed me and isn't explained in the Errata or FAQs.

theunwantedbeing
02-01-2015, 21:21
The charge gets declared.
You declare your reaction.
You stand and shoot in the stand and shoot phase.
*fire as normal*
Then some time later, the chargers (assuming they're even alive at this point) charge you.
They they butcher you in combat.

The bearded one
02-01-2015, 22:22
The moment your enemy declare to charge you, you declare your stand and shoot reaction (or your flee, or hold reaction). At that exact moment you resolve the reaction you've chosen. (the enemy after that continues declaring other charges, andsoforth).


If the enemy unit happens to be really, really far away, then it could indeed happen he's simply outside of your maximum potential range.

Blkc57
02-01-2015, 23:25
The moment your enemy declare to charge you, you declare your stand and shoot reaction (or your flee, or hold reaction). At that exact moment you resolve the reaction you've chosen. (the enemy after that continues declaring other charges, andsoforth).


If the enemy unit happens to be really, really far away, then it could indeed happen he's simply outside of your maximum potential range.

The stand and shoot reaction always occurs as if the enemy is located at the weapons' maximum possible range if they are outside the maximum range at the time the S&S is resolved. For the Warpfire thrower that has the ability to stand and shoot, the Stand and shoot is resolved exactly as a normal shot with you rolling the artillery dice for range and effect. This has usually been read to mean that if you stand and shoot at an enemy that is greater than 18 inches away (the maximum roll of the artillery dice plus the length of the template) then at most you will only hit one or two models and only if you roll a 10 on the artillery dice, as the enemy is assumed to be at the maximum possible range of 18 at the time of the stand and shoot.

Ellecis
03-01-2015, 01:10
Thanks all. So it sounds like once the enemy declares a charge, you resolve the warpfire shot right away. I guess since a WFT has a maximum range of 18", not many units would be charging that distance anyway (average roll of 7 on 2D6 and a movement of even 9 means that 18" is a stretch for fast calvary). If it is a flyer charging from greater than 18" you would move them to just inside the range and resolve from there.