PDA

View Full Version : Empire Gun units- HELP!

jcsalmela
02-03-2015, 05:06
I am new to the game. I am playing the Empire. I am thinking of doing a Gunline strategy, or at least something of the sort. My plan was to focus primarily on hand gunners. Then use cannon and steam tanks to support. Halbrediers to stall, and maybe some archers to advance, skirmish and soften. Biggest question is how to set up my hand gun units. Should I have full command in them? how many should I put in one unit? Should I use detachments? Upgrades? I currently am thinking units of 20 handgunnners (banner+musician+champion) with repeater rifle upgrades for all (if that's possible, as I said new, not sure how upgrades work exactly). Just curious if command is worth it. Would it be better to save the points for more gunners, and I don't think the musician can shoot (since he doesn't have a gun), so would it be better to not have him, or other command, and just have more basic gunners? Secondly, I would like to know if this type of strategy is feasible, not really if it'd be fun or not, i'd enjoy it personally.

Thanks in advance! ^.^

Liefather
02-03-2015, 06:17
Sorry to drop it on you but handgunners are currently one of worst units of empire. With low range and balistic skill they hit on 5+ most of the time and they are just to expencive.
Better for your strategy use crossbowmen.

If you still want to use them there are 2 best ways:

1) 10 handgunners with just marksman with hochland long rifle to snipe enemy characters
2) 20 with marksman and banner - 2 ranks of 10 - and last turn before charge you reform them so they can hold turn of two in close combat

Personaly I think that first way is better if not the only way of fielding them.

Full command looks nice but is not worth it most of the times. And musician can shoot and besides being musician counts as normal handgunner.

jcsalmela
02-03-2015, 07:08