PDA

View Full Version : Dwarf Army Suggestions

ledex07
20-03-2015, 03:33
So I am relatively new to warhammer fantasy. I have been playing more 40k, but have really wanted to start playing fantasy. I just started a new Dwarf army, the two units that I have so far is a dwarf lord and some long beards. The main thing I am debating is what to field; these are some of the unit choices I am debating on:

Thunderers vs Quarrelers
Hammerers vs Longbeards/Warriors w/ great weapons
Iron Breakers vs Longbeards/Warriors w/ Hand Weapon & Shield

I understand this is a pretty generic question but its one that I am sincerely curious about what people normally take between these units.

Micalovits
20-03-2015, 08:25
Quarrelers are generally regarded as slightly better than thunderers, as that 6' range often allows them to get a extra turn of shooting, but it can come down to personal preference.
As for the hammerers/ironbreakers vs longbeards/warriors, you will usually always take a unit of warriors/longbeards to fill out your core first. If you are going with shields, go longbeards as str 4 is pretty nice(especially with armour piercing from a runesmith), but gw you can go with either.
For going hammerers vs iron breakers in special is really a massive preference question - Hammerers kill stuff and are still somewhat resilent being dwarves while ironbreakers that are stubborn(banner rune) will hold up anything. For ever. And grind it down possibly.

JPThunda
20-03-2015, 09:02
A lot of that comes down to personal preference or their battlefield role.