PDA

View Full Version : URGENT!! Scorpion Question for Battle tonight!!



Angry Scotsman
01-04-2015, 11:11
Hey guys, sorry to push for an answer but I'm in a bit of a crisis.

My scorpion exarch has a scorpions claw, which is ap2 and a chainsword which is ap6. Now do I calculate my attacks with my chainsword or with my claw?






Also it says my exarch has 2 attacks, so does that mean with...
+1 for Charging
+1 for 2 combat weapons
thats 4 attacks at str 7 ap2?
(not forgetting the mandiblaster attack at str 6 ap- for init 10)

(i have the crushing blow which gives +1 str + the raw 3 str x2 from claw =7). so thats 5 attacks?! seems too much.

Thanks so much guys have a good one!

murgel2006
01-04-2015, 11:14
according to the big rulebook you can use either the claw or the sword, they do not ad up.

BUT do Count as 2 CC weapons.

Either sword with +1str +crushing blow OR 2xstr+crushing blow.

At ini:
claw : 2 Base +1 for 2CCweapons (not a specialist weapon as far as I remember) + Charge => 4 attacks
sword: 2 Base +1 for 2CCweapons + Charge => 4 attacks

The blasters are at ini 10 totally seperate.

BigHammer
01-04-2015, 17:52
Also, mandiblasters are S3. Only Karandras' mandiblasters are S6.

Dr.Clock
01-04-2015, 19:56
Yeah... claw exarchs are pretty boss. 4A on the charge may seem high, but the exarch alone is a 57 point model, with 1W at T3. Sure, he'll straight up murder most other upgrade characters, and may even put a wound or two on an HQ in a challenge - but that's what he's FOR - he's basically designed (and quite well at that) to be an assassin-type dude.

It's worth noting that unless you're facing a really significant number of T5+ opponents, Crushing Blow is probably not necessary once you're at S6. It does have some potential if you are, for some reason, taking chainsabres or a Biting blade... especially with the former, S5 Ap5 Rending is pretty darn cool. But seriously, once you've spent more than the original dude's cost on his strikes-at-I powerfist, throwing more points to get that +1S enters into the realm of diminishing returns.

Cheers,

The Good Doctor.

Emperor Karl Franz
01-04-2015, 22:05
Doesn't Crushing Blow add +1 Str before the Scorpion's Claw doubles it, making him Str 8? That's great for scoring Instant Death blows against T 4 characters.

BigHammer
01-04-2015, 22:22
Doesn't Crushing Blow add +1 Str before the Scorpion's Claw doubles it, making him Str 8? That's great for scoring Instant Death blows against T 4 characters.

No. Additive stat bonuses are processed after multiplicative ones.

MichaelJohn
02-04-2015, 13:03
Is'nt that just an upgrade for his statline? So then he has standard S4, so if he needs to take a S-test he will have S4 for that one?

murgel2006
02-04-2015, 13:27
Is'nt that just an upgrade for his statline? So then he has standard S4, so if he needs to take a S-test he will have S4 for that one?

Sorry, but no. The clushing blow is a special "power" thus it is not adding to the statline but to the attack.