PDA

View Full Version : Skaven starter

Plague
01-07-2006, 08:41
Well i'm fairly new to warhammer and i've read the rulebook and know the basics of the game and i'm now ready to start an army. after countless reviews of armies the one that grabbed me was skaven. what can i say..... i like rats. so would any experienced skaven players tell me how they are usually played tactically? any notable strengths or weaknesses that should be carefully considered? i'm all ears.

Tanith Ghost
01-07-2006, 11:01
If you want to have some fun, take warmachines. Then push them beyond all reason, and enjoy the carnage. Most all skaven warmachines, when pressed too far(not far at all) will misfire, causing massive casualties(and sometimes even killing a few enemy troops too).:p

In larger games, don't hesitate to set loose spells like plauge on your own troops- plauge could run amok on your enemy's army, or your own, or both.

Finaly, go for globadiers. Grenadiers armed with glass balls who gas themselves when they fumble a throw. What's not to like?:evilgrin:

Viskrit
01-07-2006, 13:46
Check the Tactics forum for tactics. There are some Skaven threads there.

I think you should go with the troop types you like, but stay away from SAD (too many ratling guns, warlock engineers and jezzails). If you want to keep your friends, that is.

Plague
03-07-2006, 20:18
Well thanks, i had one more question is there any particular units that i should not put in my army? example: is a grey seer on a screaming bell a waist of army list points?

Viskrit
03-07-2006, 20:37
I love Grey Seers, and I usually field one in 2000 points. Though some may argue that a Warlord is more worthwhile. What can I say, I love magic. :p