PDA

View Full Version : Space Marine Codex

Heimdallr
06-06-2015, 11:38
Hi all,

Forgive my ignorance but would the new SM codex have an effect on the current chapter specific books? For example: I read on BOLS that Devastators have the slow and purposeful rule but in the BA codex the Devastators do not have this rule.

I'm pretty new at the whole gaming and rule side of things.

Rogue Star
06-06-2015, 11:53
'Codex: Space Marines' will only affect armies based around that rule-set. So stuff like the supplements "Sentinels of Terra" and "Clan Raukaan" will be invalidated until updated. Most other plays will be fine though for friendly gaming to continue using them.

Blood Angels and Dark Angels aren't effected as they are stand alone armies, not supplements. Sadly this does mean until the BA get updated, you might have inferior Devastators, as an example... but hey, the Codex Space Marines don't get Furioso Dreadnoughts or the Death Company, so you gotta roll with the punches.

Hope this helps.

Spiney Norman
06-06-2015, 11:53
In answer to your question, no-one really knows, as far as I know the rumour that Devastators will have slow and purposeful is not confirmed at this stage (and it would surprise me greatly if they did). In addition it would be extremely rare for GW to errata changes to the generic space marine codex back into chapter variant codexes already in print, Dark Angels did not gain grav weapins via FaQ after the 6th edition marine codex came out for example.

T10
06-06-2015, 12:08
Hi all,

Forgive my ignorance but would the new SM codex have an effect on the current chapter specific books? For example: I read on BOLS that Devastators have the slow and purposeful rule but in the BA codex the Devastators do not have this rule.

I'm pretty new at the whole gaming and rule side of things.