PDA

View Full Version : Anybody actually considering mass rebasing?

Balerion
10-07-2015, 03:26
I kind of hate myself for even contemplating this... but I'm tempted.

Pros

Appearance: I've always preferred round bases to square, from both an aesthetic and gameplay perspective. If I coulda pressed a button when I started playing 7th edition to make all bases round, I definitely woulda done it.

Lost work: Most of my stuff is unpainted, and about 2/3 don't have any decorative base treatments. I wouldn't be sacrificing a lot of past work in that regard.

Utility: AoS seems to play better with round bases than square ones (ie. constant piling-in)

Future-proofing: If Warhammer doesn't just die out completely, it's likely that round bases will become more and more necessary/standardized with each version.

Cons

Spite: I don't appreciate a company semi-invalidating decades' worth of models. Square bases may be inferior in every way, but it was a commitment that should have been worked around.

Lost work: I spent hours and hours magnetizing 400+ Skaven and filling in the bases with Liquid Plastic. It seems like a huge tragedy to waste all that effort. On the other hand, without metal movement trays the magnets are actually a pain in the ass, because models want to cling to each other.

Future-proofing: If AoS is a huge failure it would be no surprise for GW to eventually rereleae traditional Warhammer like nothing ever happened. If there ever came a point where I needed to rebase back to squares I would probably just set my army on fire and then stick my head in the oven.

--------------------------------------------