PDA

View Full Version : Age of Sigmar - 1 week review

SlyRebirth
18-07-2015, 09:25
I picked up the box last Saturday, and played the first games last night. I know others have already played and posted impressions, I thought I'd add my own thoughts now the dust is starting to settle. For clarity, I've been playing WHFB for about 7-8 years, dabbled in 40K for a short time a few years ago. I don't play competitively, but I only collect the minis to actually play with; not just to look at. We only used the contents of this box, nothing else.

Models

It took around 4 hours to trim and glue everything, and I have to say I was very impressed with the way the pieces fit together. People were mentioning snap-fit before release, and while they're not, they're extremely well sculpted. i don't think I've ever come across models that fit together so precisely, and this meant fewer join lines and much quicker assembly. When I remember the old days of metal, or even plastics of a few years ago, it's a huge advance.

In addition, the quality of the model design is extremely high. I think that this is the best work that GW have produced, and I'm really looking forward to painting them over time. They make me want to collect pretty much everything they release... which is very naughty of GW...

Rules

As with WHFB editions previously, we decided to start out small and just get used to the new rules gently. The scenarios in the book are actually pretty good for this. We played the first scenario (1 Sigmar model vs 2 Khorne models) twice, then played the next two scenarios, which introduce new models each time. It gets you used to Hero abilities, larger units, flying, etc - but gradually. The first couple of scenarios seemed a bit stacked in favour of Sigmar, but the last one we played seemed very well balanced.