PDA

View Full Version : How do I make vampireless Undead work?

Dr.Zahnfleisch
14-09-2015, 13:24
Hey folks,

I'm trying to get a 2000-ish Undead force going for casual play, but I have no experience whatsoever with VC in 8th.
The premise is that there will be no Vampires, so things will be a bit more complicated. I'd also like to stay away from Zombies because the models look very outdated.

Here's what I've come up with (units marked with a "!" are non-negotiable since I already have the miniatures):

Master Necromancer - 270
Level 4, Talisman of Preservation, Earthing Rod
General, tries to stay alive as long as possible. Inside defensive Skeleton Warriors.

Wight King (!) -115
Heavy Armour, Killing Blow, Skeletal Steed, Barding, Lance, Enchanted Shield
Adds a bit of punch to the Black Knights and looks awesome.

Wight King -154
Heavy Armour, Killing Blow, Great Weapon, Shield, Battle Standard Bearer, War Banner
Battle Standard, more punch for the Grave Guard and +1 Combat Res.

Necromancer -120
Level 2, Dispel Scroll
Support Necro, inside defensive Skeleton Warriors.

38x Skeleton Warriors - 235 Points
Shield, Light Armour, Skeleton Champion, Musician, Standard Bearer, Lichebone Pennant
Defensive block, core fillers and bus for both Necromancers, (1) Magic Resistance

40x Skeleton Warriors - 255 Points
Shield, Light Armour, Skeleton Champion, Musician, Standard Bearer, Screaming Banner
Anvil unit and core fillers.

19x Grave Guard (!) - 308 Points
Undead, Heavy Armour, Shield, Great Weapon, Seneschal, Standard Bearer, Musician, The Banner of the Barrows
These guys should bring the pain

9x Black Knights (!) - 275 Points
Heavy Armour, Shield, Spectral Steed, Killing Blow, Barding, Lance, Hell Knight, Musician, Standard Bearer, Banner of Eternal Flame
Flanking unit/Chaff clearer. Flaming Attacks to counter Ethereals and Regeneration. Look badass.

5x Hexwraiths (!) - 150 Points
Etheral, Fast Cavalry, Soul Reapers, Soulstriders, Spectral Hunters, Terror, Undead