PDA

View Full Version : Battletome Bloodbound: the good, the bad and the ugly

Turgol
28-09-2015, 01:05
This is small review of a book that really surprised me: the Bloodbound battletome. Before I get to the point let me tell you I was not looking forward to this, because a) the Sigmarine battletome dissapointed me and b) I have always disliked Chaos. I bought it mainly because I started painting the starter set Bloodbound and so said: why the hell not! But I was so distant to it that I bought the cheaper electronic version (which is great btw, just discovered that there is no point anymore on buying the enhanced edición). I was, however, very positively surprised to find out that it not only was a much better codex than the sigmarine one, but that it was also maybe the nicest chaos codex that GW has produced since 4th edition. Ir does have one major flaw though, as you will find out.

1) The good

Ok, the book is very good. Unlike the sigmarine book, you do get the feeling of the Bloodbound being an army which makes dense and in which every model released has its place. Better: it does really feel like a Khorne army should be. This is something which GW never managed to produce before.

The book also adds a lot to the setting. My main problem with the sigmarine one was that I felt it added nothing to the background. This is linked obviously to the fact that the other books are actually sigmarine books as well. The Bloodbound book it very refreshing.

The army is also really nice as well. This, of course, you all knew, but it combines really well with the other points.

The battleplans, specially the first one, feel different, challenging and fun.

The minor battalions are also quite good.

2) The bad