PDA

View Full Version : most useful dark elves units

colrud
04-12-2015, 15:07
Hi, ive recently acquired a massive dark elves army which has multiples of many units,prob over 10000 points worth,im new to dark elves and have never played them (book has been ordered) but what units are autoinclude and what should i try and move on as i want to thin it out,i do have a few ideas but want to hear from some more experenced players just so i dont shift the wrong units ,cheers in advance

Folomo
04-12-2015, 15:23
Depends on the edition/game.
What is best in 8th, AoS or 9th is completely different.
What are you planning to play?

Lord Dan
04-12-2015, 15:36
Moved to Tactics.

=][=

Ayin
04-12-2015, 16:21
As Folomo said, it pretty much depends entirely on which game you're hoping to play.

If it's AoS...just take whatever you like. That's the whole point of the game, do what you want and enjoy it, it doesn't matter if model A is better than model B.

If you're talking about 8th, the Warlock riders (whose name I unfortunately forget) are ludicrously good (head-shakingly good even), but after that, the DE army is full of solid units. Dark Riders are great Fast Cav, the repeater crossbows offer a wonderful ranged unit that can fight off most traditional scouts, Bolt Throwers are always good. It's hard to find a BAD unit in the army (though some are obviously better than others).

Personally, I'm a big fan of Cold One Knights, though they're rarely used due to the fact that they aren't as reliable as the rest of the army.

colrud
04-12-2015, 16:38
sorry i should have mentioned im playing 8th for now,aos i dont think is for me although 9th sounds interesting. what units should i completely avoid or is there a unit that fulfills their role better than others,just putting the feelers out there before my codex arrives

Folomo
04-12-2015, 17:48
In 8th, Warlocks where probably the most hated unit in DE, with justified reasons. 2 units of 5 are almost auto-included in most lists.