PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Wood Elf pointers (not talking about spears)

Seth the Dark
20-07-2006, 19:48
I'm pretty new to the Fantasy game and I am looking to go with a witer themed Wood Elf army. What would be some things I should not miss at all?

Highborn
20-07-2006, 23:51
Dryads and treemen sleep during the winter. If you're building a winter-themed army for the fluff ... leave them out =) Personal gripe.

I think Treekin and Wild Riders are sorta ok though ... from memory, Treekin are spirits that inhabit dead trees and Wild Riders patrol the glades waiting for Orion's awakening in spring.

Fluff be damned, then remember that maneuvrability is king. Almost every choice is either a march blocker (warhawks, great eagles, waywatchers, glade riders) or has a bonus on the charge (wild riders, wardancers, glade riders, warhawks). Unfortunately, your best combat units are also skirmishers or fast cavalry who can't negate rank bonus or won't be able to in less than two months (wardancers, wild riders, glade riders, dryads and to some extent waywatchers and warhawks).

What that adds up to is that you'll have three units that can be relied on to take a charge and fight on (treekin, treemen, eternal guard with character). I personally use Glade Guard, because ones the battle is joined they're nothing but bait anyway, and every treekin I don't take is worth 5 dryads.

Your lifeline is an Alter Noble, with Helm of the Hunt and Hail of Doom arrow. BS6, S4 can remove a unit of enemy fast cavalry that would otherwise be a pain, and 5 WS6, S6 attacks on the charge will take apart most enemies on the charge. He'll still lose to combat res, but remember what was mentioned about support? ;)

Something that was written somewhere else, can't remember who or where but strikes me as especially relevant now - if you're not spending the majority of your time in the Movement phase, you're doing something wrong.