PDA

View Full Version : Landing drama -- short story

cpl_hicks
31-07-2006, 00:28
right this is my first attempt at writing a short story for pleasure (school dosent count), its a multipart warhammer 40,000 story that i hope to update daily

Landing drama -- Part 1

As the ship juddered around him Losk wondered what it would be like to fight a war, to kill another man in blessed battle. Looking around him Losk saw his kinsmen; each and every one of them looked as he felt, nervous, apprehensive, gunning for a fight.
These where the last living remnants of his planet, during the warp journey they had all had nightmares of the enemy attacking their planet, of the destruction of all of their family and everything they had ever know, when they returned to real space they found out the truth, the regiments commander had told them all their home planet Hartive was dead, destroyed by the enemy as an act of vengeance against crimes that had be long forgotten.
Jastok had started a cry and Losk as his brother had added his voice along with every other trooper in the hold “ We the last sons of Hartive, pledge our souls to the lord on his throne, may he live forever, may we as his sons look upon him at the end times with awe.”

When they had all marched back to there barrack-holds with the cry still ringing in their ears, Platoon Leader Gerjil, formed us into ranks and started the warm-up exercises of what was going to be an eventful day.

“But why do we have to do it”
“Because Gerjil says so that’s why”
“But Joskin. we always do it, those fools from third squad always get the cushy jobs”
“I know, I know now step to it”.
As Jaskin hurried of to do his task, Squad Leader Joskin Hakes again asked the lord on his throne, why he had been given the responsibility of leading what where in fact useless men, troopers who couldn’t hit a grox point blank and who where the most unfit troopers he had ever know, if he could have just been born five years earlier.