PDA

View Full Version : Help a returning player catch up with changes and pick an army!

coelomate
07-08-2006, 18:12
Hi there!

Oh, how the terrible Games Workshop bug has bitten : (

I started playing 6 or so years ago, but I was too young at the time to get a lot out of the hobby. Lots of fights with my friends over rules, 1,000 point Vampire Counts armies with 2 vampires and 20 skeletons (held together with hot glue) and various other things Iíd simply rather not admit.

But, after falling hard for a Sisters of Battle 40K list and collecting all that I wanted for my first 1,000 point foray back into the hobby, Iím finding my eye increasingly turning to Fantasy.

Itís been a long time since Iíve played Ė my last game was probably a month or two after the release of 6th edition! So Iíd appreciate any insight at all into the armies Iím considering or just Ďwhatís changedí Ė in tournaments, friendly games, etc.

Here are the armies Iím considering collecting, probably one regiment at a time painted slowly while Iím up at college:

(not in any particular order)

Dwarfs: I love the idea of solid infantry units that can shrug of a calvalry charge. War machines and ranged units are a big plus, as are hard-as-nails characters. The models leave a lot to be desired, however, and Iím looking for an army that can play in all phases Ė meaning thereís a lot dwarfs couldnít do. How does the Anvil of Doom work?

Vampire Counts: Itís where I started and still holds a warm place in my heart. What made me drop them in the end was the lack of diversity in the list, but I loved the big, strong regiments and the (for lack of a better word) characterful characters. The range is getting a bid old though if Iím not mistaken Ė and I donít want to buy into an army just before it gets new minis/rules.