PDA

View Full Version : The Big "I'm new to WFB, what do I need to know" -Thread.

Rincewind
09-08-2006, 22:36
So, after playing WH40K for, oh, 10 years, I'm thinking about dabbling into WFB as the new edition shows up. I've looked around these forums and read all my old WDs for clues, but I'd love to hear from Fantasy players how do the two systems differ. In 40K, the weaponry is much more effective, meaning that the situation is much more fluid... but in FB it seems that manouvering to get that "perfect" charge is all-important.

Please, enlighten me.

DeathMasterSnikch
09-08-2006, 22:41
Ha nice name :) Love Terry (Oh yeh im on first term names with him :p)

You need to pick an army first realy. Tactics differ depending on what our force is and unless your the 'I want to win and don't care what army I use' type then you should pick an army you like the look and background of first.

Main changes realy are magic has a fundemental role (although 7th edition could change it), psychology can be very important depending on the army, rank and file is important for CR, and all our models have square bases and you stick em together to make bigger squares and rectangles ;).

Rincewind
09-08-2006, 23:00
Well I'm thinking about either Chaos, Bretonnians or Wood Elves. I want something colourful and fun to paint, and since the local game store hosts 350 & 700 point games, I could really paint my guys to as high a standard as I won't be having much free time this winter. Wood Elves have nice, earthy colours, Bretonnians are like an explosion in a paint factory and Chaos... well, the Chaos models just look wonderful.

I'm not really asking for specific tactics for specific armies, more like "what are the differences compared to 40K".

Luke
09-08-2006, 23:09