PDA

View Full Version : Looking to start...

Bingo the Fun Monkey
11-08-2006, 10:12
Well, after hating this game's very existence for a long time, I took a look at the rules and really began to appreciate the potential joys of using this system. Much as I love WFB this game presents something completely new (I'm not too ready to make the leap to Iron Kingdoms). I'm not saying it's better, but it's certainly not inferior either. The Legions of Middle Earth was the final straw to make me actually want to get a force together.

Now, I'm naturally attracted to the forces of Evil and Disorder and so I am torn between using an Easterling, Mordor or Isengardian force. Sadly, this is a "help me choose my force" thread, but as a total newbie to this system I could really use some veteran advice.

I like the Easterlings a lot mainly because of their mystique, corrupted humanity, and their formidable defensive qualities. However, I'm not that big of a fan of painting faces behind heavy helmets (because I'm a lazy OCD painter). Having reliable troops is a novelty to me (playing orcs and goblins), so that aspect also intrigues me. However, I am not that big of a fan of a force that is not exactly a fantasy stereotype. Also, most of the models are too uniform. I do have a really bad-ass colour scheme that I know I'd enjoy painting for them in mind.

Mordor would seem to be my natural choice. As I play orcs and goblins I can take orcs (and morannon and uruk hai) with some nasty trolls (with gorgeous models), etc. However, I fear that their playing style would not be too different from my WFB army. I know they're completely different game systems, but I know that I'd have the same outlook as I do as a greenskin general.