PDA

View Full Version : Proxies...

Bigheadmike
11-08-2006, 23:12
I just wondered how acceptable are proxies...I am asking this for things like Terminators. I am new to 40k and will probably have to proxy 1 assault cannon on a terminator due to the fact that the terminator box only comes with one of each Terminator special weapon. I will probably also have to proxy my Master's wargear. I want a master in terminator armor w/pair of lightning claws. Uh oh that's not any model (that I can find) I am not a modeling expert so conversions are probably out. As long as they are reasonable ie with the terminator I'll just put the CML on one and call it my other AC. I could understand people being annoyed at it with a Tac squad w/lascannon and someone defining the proxy as "the one in this pose" but if it is easily pointed out then I don't see what the big problem is.
...puts on flame retardent suit...
Mike

BrainFireBob
11-08-2006, 23:37
First off: It's considered acceptable during a trial period, for experimentation, and in some gaming groups.

People are less irritated if it's a fairly accuracte proxy size-wise (game performance issue) and if it's clearly marked/delineated/what have you.

Secondly: What the heck, man? You can order another assault cannon for just a couple of bucks from Battlewagon Bitz (one of the justifications for its existence), and "I want a Master in terminator armor with lightning claws but can't convert it and it doesn't exist"- wtf? Put lightning claws on a fancied-up terminator body (lots of extra bits, no helmet). That's not even not hard- that's just using existing bits.

Seleucus
12-08-2006, 00:50
BrainFireBob mentioned getting parts fro Battlewagon Bits, here are the pages you need:

http://battlewagon-bits.com/category/warhammer_40k_bits.space_marines.terminator_bits/

http://battlewagon-bits.com/category/warhammer_40k_bits.space_marines.terminator_w__ass ault_wpn_bits/