PDA

View Full Version : Toppan's Which Army? Thread, Fantasy Style!

Toppan
13-08-2006, 21:54
So, ive been playing 40k for a couple years now, and im mostly finished with my feral orks. Ive decided to start fantasy because
1. i <3 fantasy novels...movies...games...etc...all of it!
2. i dont feel like starting another 40k army...sci fi and guns are really not "my thing" so to speak
3. the release of 7th addition will spurt a wave of players, so i can participate in any new events!

now, ive done this a billion times, the whole, which army? thing. im not tired of it because it helps.

the problem is, ive never played fantasy per se, ive experimented, and ive never read the rules...so i guess you could say im a purebred newbie. which is good.

so lets get down to the nitty gritty already.

which army?

first post, ill tell you what ive played before and what im looking for in an army tactically wise. then ill cross reference what you say with my own opinions model wise and fluff wise and see if i can make a decision.

i played feral orks in 40k, basically a swarm of models adept at shooting and close combat with absolutely no defense whatsoever. i had a chunky (pointwise) unit of boars that i had for my HQ. they were either something that died really fast and easy or something that won the game for me.

basically, expendable but effective troops as a distraction for the upcoming sledgehammer.

now, in fantasy i dont want something that is close enough to this to where i can figure out what im doing straight off. i want something completely different from this style of fodder+uber unit, maybe a sort of balance.

also, ive always been more of a combat person more than a ranged one...not sure why, must be the ork in me, but i can tell you i really like the misfire stuff and scatter rolls. templates=yay