PDA

View Full Version : Chaos cavalry force. Can it work?

Luke
17-08-2006, 20:33
Hey all, so this isn't an army list though I'm hoping some will crop up throughout. I've been toying for a few years now with the idea of an all/predominantly cavalry force. As far as miniature quality goes I'm not too fussed as I can convert any rubbish models or missing weapon options.

What it boils down to at the end of the day is Chaos. I love chaos. And they also have some terrific cavalry. But I was wondering obviously if a force made up of Marauder horsemen, Knights, chariots and some supporting beast units could be an effective force? As far as ranks go it would be a losing battle in cc but at least I have double unit strength per model over infantry. So hopefully I wont be too out numbered if I have at least one meaty cav unit.

The way I look at it is this:

I have the elite Knights to break the enemy units through sheer weight and quality of attacks and ws, whilst the lighter cav (centigors, warhounds and marauders) nip around denying those all important enemy ranks. If I have denied ranks, outnumbered through multiple charges and caused enough damage, Im hoping to break enemy regiments. The theory is, "in theory" sound. But do you agree?

So what would the ideal Chaos Cavalry force consist of? How should the regiments be structured? What should my character selection be? Sorcerors or champions?

Any feedback would be ace.

ardude
17-08-2006, 21:30
Latro alwais plays with a khorn raiding army its a very strong army.
he alwais ends high ( ofcourse he is a good player but it proves that it works:) )
but I think it's easyer for him to tell you:cool:

Latro
17-08-2006, 21:39
The Khornate Cavalry Army is one of my favourite lists! ... and a succesful one too. :evilgrin:

I use it in 1K and 2K tournaments, with a mix of:

- Knights of Khorne
- Minotaurs of Khorne, great weapons
- Marauder Horsemen, flails
- Warhounds (lots of them)
- Furies
- ... sometimes a Chariot