PDA

View Full Version : Wood Elves vs Skaven - Assistance needed

Alathir
20-08-2006, 11:45
Soon I will be taking on a Skaven playing friend of mine in a 2500 point game with my Wood Elves, and I have very little experience against these furry bastards. I have been racking my brain trying to make this fight easier for me, but swarm armies seem to be quite tricky for Wood Elves, or perhaps that's just me. I was hoping that some of you out there would be able to lend me some tactical assistance.

Thanks in advance.

My models are as follows

1 Highborn
3 Nobles
2 Spellsingers
32 Glade Guard
20 Eternal Guard
6 Wardancers
16 Dryads
6 Wild Riders
8 Glade Riders
9 Waywatchers
9 Wardancers
1 Treeman
1 Forest Dragon

Mephistofeles
20-08-2006, 11:51
Take a bunch of shooters and make one of his bigger regiments flee. That will hopefully trigger a chain-reaction amongst the furries making them run away while you pick the ones still pushing forward.

The Dragon and Treeman are really good against them too I think, since Psychology is NOT the Skavens friend, not with that LD of theirs. Make them run away. Do not engage them in battle.

If you are to actually fight them, make sure to negate their flanks with some riders or dryads, and then you are almost sure that they will run away, I mean, they arn't exactly heavy hitters.

Also, you might want to take a fair bit of magical Defense, since they might be going strong in that phase.

Do you know how his army looks like?

Alathir
20-08-2006, 11:59
Not exactly, I'm pretty sure he has most of the army, but most importantly I know he is a bastard when it comes to playing and only plays to win so you can bet his list will not be friendly.

I'm considering a highborn on a dragon with the wraithstone (-1 to enemys leadership within 6 inches) and the callach's claw (-1 to leadership if you cause a wound in combat).

heretics bane
20-08-2006, 12:30