PDA

View Full Version : The most dramatic Primarchs?

Chaos Lord Primus
24-08-2006, 22:29
I've been toying with doing a script for a 40k animated mini-series for a school project (I'm a college cinema student). After much reflection, I've decided to focus on parts of the Great Crusade, the Heresy and its aftermath.

My reasons are such; it's the grand drama that, for me at least, defines the Imperium and Chaos. And it has the Primarchs, which are epic characters by definition.

Which led me to a problem. Out of all the described Primarchs, which ones have the most dramatic and compelling stories/moments?

So far, I've got this:

Leman Russ: Great Norse mythology (Aesir and the uh... other guys) overtones, his meeting the Emperor, the assault on Prospero, and the whole vision and leaving for the Wolftime.

Night Haunter: Everyone knows the Heart of Darkness drill, and the Callidus thing. Great themes, but tertiary to the course of the Heresy.

Rogal Dorn: Carrying the Emperor's body back to Terra. If done properly, a great way to highlight the tragedy of his death.

Sanguinus: His speech on Baal, breaking the Bloodthirster, the whole dying to Horus thing.

Horus: Duh.

Alpharius: His boarding action on Horus' cruiser, and the whole invasion of Tesstra Prime, his duel with Guilliman.

I know there are more. Warseer, help me!

Indrid Khold
24-08-2006, 23:42
Lion El'Johnson has a pretty good story, what with his old buddy betraying him to chaos and his homeworld turning to Chaos.

A few others:

Magnus the Red using his forbidden powers to warn the Emperor and being condemned for it.

Lorgar being rebuked for his religious devotion to the Emperor and turning to Chaos.

Corax and his guilt for corrupting the gene seed of his legion, then disappearing into the Eye of Terror.