PDA

View Full Version : Mad Man-a-tron's Mechanical Marine Madness

MAD MAN-A-TRON
30-08-2006, 06:10
Welcome reader, to my brand spanking new marine project log. Before we begin, I think a little introduction is in order...wouldn't you agree?

I am a part time soldier and student, but this wasn't always so, I worked in a local hobby shop for over a year, before and after attending tank training at Fort Knox. I also happen to be something of rivet head, which means when not building minis, attending classes, or driving 70 ton armored vehicles, I like to go to the local Goth club and stomp around with my knee high boots.

Now that weíve been introduced, letís begin with a little bit about the army.

Why Marines?
My first army was space marines, and Iíve always been in love with the concept of tall, super human killing machines. I also love their gothic imagery. I received about 300 dollars worth of them as a present from my girlfriend, not to mention the various figures Iíve collected while at the hobby shop. So this leaves me with a lot of models, now all I need is the concept and motivation.

Concept
My favorite army, by far, is my orks, and I collect two flavors, speed freaks and free booters. So, a marine army would be a grand departure from the normal waaaghing around, charging with my choppa, making a mess of things, etc. I originally opted for a Raven Guard army, but I found out all to fast that their style of play wasnít unlike my freaks. With this in mind, I set about making a shooting army.