PDA

View Full Version : Rules paradoxon; page 18/ page 21, need help

DoomedDiceThrower
12-09-2006, 19:08
Hi.

I'm a beginner that freshly converted from 40k to Fantasy, and I'm reading through the rulebook for the first time. And I already need help with a problem.

Before I start to describe it let me point out that I have to translate from german to English, so I might struggle with the rule-terms.

Diagram/Chart 18.1 on page 18 in the new rulebook shows how stand and shoot works. The chart shows 3 different situations. Look at the third one.
Knights are attacking(/charging?) archers. The distance to the archers is 6". After 3" begins difficult terrain, which costs the knights 3 additional inches of their movement, because every inch moved through difficult terrain counts as 2. So instead 3 inches it takes 6 inches to move through the difficult terrain in this case. Which means that the knights count as having moved 9".
I hope everything is clear so far.

Now look on page 21.
There's a passage where charging (or is it "attacking"?) is described.
It is said that imperial knights, with their movement of 7, could charge (attack?) 14".
My book sais: " [...] If they attack (charge) through difficult terrain or over an obstacle ( for example a forest or a fence), they move with half speed and reduce their charging range to 7 inches. [...]"

Back to the chart on page 18, that would mean that the knights would not have been able to charge the archers.

I hope you see my problem without any further explanation.

Help would be highly appreciated. :)

Also, for God's sake, please try tell me the original english terms that I've been struggling with here :rolleyes: ;)

gortexgunnerson
12-09-2006, 20:20