PDA

View Full Version : Waaagh? [Help wanted for Orcs]

Apologist
22-09-2006, 12:26
Hey all,
My gaming group is toying with the idea of taking up Warhammer; and I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction for the army I'm picking up.
It's a common ol' orc horde; with a couple of self-imposed restrictions:
1) Common goblins only no night goblins or forest goblins.
2) Mainly orcs.

With those points in mind, my (very) vague list looked something like:
Three large blocks of orcs; one with spears, two with choppas and shields.
Two blocks of goblins with spears.
A unit of wolfriders
Perhaps some trolls...

I haven't played Warhammer since 3rd edition, so I'm a bit at sea as to where to start. Big blocks of troops really appeal to me (I've been playing Imperial guard for about ten years); so I want an infantry-heavy army.

That said, I'm sure there's some gaping holes in my battleline that any half-decent general could exploit. What would I need to get to plug those strategic holes?

Cheers in advance.

Murderous Monkey
22-09-2006, 12:43
Not a topic I can offer immense amounts of advice regarding but I would make the following observations and comments.

1. If you haven't already done so then have a quick look in the rumour forum to see the changes to Orcs and Goblins with their impending Army Book.

2. Maybe give some idea about how the game is likely to be played and an indication of points values. For example if you are going to be playing 2,000 point league games you'll get different advice to a 500 point border patrol learning process and if you're thinking about a scenario heavy narrative campaign it'll be different again.

3. Find a post by Avian, I seem to remember he has an Orc strategy guide in his signature.