PDA

View Full Version : Considering Starship Troopers.

kortholaxthedamned
02-10-2006, 16:41
Hi all. I've been collecting Gw games for near 9 years, and, though i still collect, i was thinking of moving on to other games. i went to Attack in Devizes with 2 friends and had a game of Starship Troopers as the mobile infantry, and i really enjoyed it. i don't think it would be a 'serious' hobby, with huge amounts of converting, painting etc, but more a fun one, as i found the rules fast paced and simple in my game.

Gimme ya thoughts? should i invest in an army?

Voracioustigger
02-10-2006, 19:59
You sound a lot like I did before I started SST. I had played 40k for 9 years and never EVER wanted to pick up another wargame, but eventually I became tired of the imbalances of 40k and the you go, I go nature of the game.

Then I found SST, which fixed basically all of the gripes I had with 40k. It's faster paced, keeps both players involved at all times, and the rules just make a lot more sense.

I definitely recommend getting into SST, but I'll leave it up to you when you choose to do so. In April (quite a long way away), SST is getting a big update to streamline the game even more, and all of the models will begin being released in pre-painted sets. So, if you really liked the game and don't mind painting, I recommend getting in now. You'll have a unique looking army and you'll have a head start on everyone who just buys the pre-painted models (as the pre-paints of the current models will only slowly trickle out over then next year after the April release). But if you really don't want to invest any time in the hobby, then you could just wait for the April release.

If you have any more questions about SST or SST: Evolution just ask and I'd be happy to answer whatever I'm at liberty to talk about.

erion
02-10-2006, 23:56
RUN away as fast as you can.