PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Army (2000 points)

Black Behemoth
02-10-2006, 18:58
I'm new to WFB, and to Empire, but I have read a lot about them. Could I have some constructive criticism about this list?

Lords
1 Elector Count w/ Full Plate Armor, Helm of the Skaven Slayer, Holy Relic, Great Weapon (163) (joining first Swordsmen squad)

Heroes
1 Captain w/ Battle Standard, Full Plate Armor, Shield (85) (joining second Swordsmen squad)

1 Battle Wizard w/ 2 Dispel Scrolls (110)

Cores
24 Swordsmen w/ Standard Bearer, Musician, Griffon Standard (233)
Det: 8 Halberdiers (48)
Det: 6 Archers (48)

24 Swordsmen w/ Standard Bearer, Musician (183)
Det: 8 Halberdiers (48)
Det: 6 Archers (48)

10 Handgunners w/ Marksman w/ Hochland Long Rifle (105)

10 Handgunners w/ Marksman w/ Hochland Long Rifle (105)

6 Knights w/ Inner Circle, Full Command (196)

6 Knights w/ Full Command (178)

Specials
1 Great Cannon (100)

1 Mortar (75)

Rare
1 Steam Tank w/ Steam Gun (275)

1 Helblaster (125)

2003 points

I'll deploy with the Steam Tank inbetween the two Swordsmen squads, which are joined by my characters. A squad of knights will be on the outer ends of the Swordsmen. The Handgunners will be on a hill with the artillery. The Helblaster's place is unsure as of now. The Archer detachments will be used as screeners.

10th clancannach rangers
02-10-2006, 20:02
I don't really know too much about empire but if I were you I would take the hand gunners as detachments with only 8 in each use the spare points to upgrade one unit of archers to huntsmen and swap the other unit for 10 crossbowmen (this will be good as you only get half bows half crossbows in militia box). This will allow good stand and shoot reactions for the swordsmen, allow march blockswith the huntsmen and have descent shooting troops on any hill with a long enough range to cover alot of the battlefield.