PDA

View Full Version : Newb challenge question.

DragonPup
07-10-2006, 00:38
My gamer's edition only JUST arrived, so I am still learning the rules. If a challenge is issued to a High Elf Spearman champ, can he whip out his hand weapon and shield while the rest of the unit uses their spears? Also, if the challenge was issued on a charge, does the charging unit strike first(barring always strikes first special rules, etc), or by initiative order?

Thanks.

Kotobuki
07-10-2006, 04:07
The charging unit will still strike first, even in a challenge. As for the other question, personally, I'd let him fight with HW&S (in the challenge) while the rest of the unit used spears.

The rules have this to say on the matter of weapon choice... "At the start of the first turn of combat, each such unit can choose which of thier weapons to use (the entire unit must use the same weapon, but characters can always choose seperately)." (p. 54) This would seem to indicate that the Champion (not being a character per se) has to use the same weapon options as his unit.

On challenges, the book says this though... "The rules given below refer to characters, but a unit's champion can issue and accept challenges exactly like a character. (see page 81)" (p.76) Which, would seem to imply that in a challenge, the champion acts as a character. Which would, then, leave him free to choose a different weapon for the challenge, as referenced on page 54.