PDA

View Full Version : Skirmish Pursuit into enemy



DeathlessDraich
08-10-2006, 12:26
.................................................. .....O = Ogre
..................O............................... ....W = wardancer
................wO................................ ...D = Dryad
D................O
D.D...........
DD..D,,
D
The Dryads have broken a small unit in combat. The pursuit roll and direction takes one of them into the bottom Ogre. All Dryads are within reach of the bottom Ogre and 1 Dryad can reach the top Ogre, if they moved in a straight line which is not the direction of pursuit/flee.

1) How do the Dryads rank up against the Ogres?
2) Are any Dryads allowed to rank up with the top Ogre, if so how many?

The rules for pursuit state:"... the pursuers must endeavour to bring as many charging models into combat as possible. This means it is normally necessary to wheel in order to maximise the number of combatants"

Thank you in advance.

alextroy
08-10-2006, 15:53
They would rank up against the Orge unit starting at the bottom of the Wardancer and streching downward, unless they had sufficent movement to get above the Wardancer and ranking up the unit above the wardancer would bring more models into contact.

Either way, you would not divide the unit around the wardancer. They would either all rank up above or below the wardancer.

TheWarSmith
08-10-2006, 16:20
well, they'd be moving straight horizontally given your diagram right?

In that case, they'd only rank against the bottom ogre.

You present an interesting diagram; is it possible to have a friendly units surround each other in combat?

T10
09-10-2006, 08:07
They rank up against the bottom ogre because it is the closest.

Bear in mind that a unit of skirmishers will form up as wide as possible, but with the restriction that it will not form up wider than the number of models that could actually reach the target unit.

If they were to contact the top ogre, the Dryads would form up in a formation one model wide regardless of free frontage on that side of the wardancer.

Against the bottom ogre they form up as wide as the free frontage permits.

-T10

DeathlessDraich
09-10-2006, 17:37
Thank you for the replies.
Everyone seems in agreement. The skirmishers rank up along the bottom only.
I tend to agree but I cannot find it in the rules that 2 units of skirmishers or skirmishers and single characters have to rank up separately and cannot 'mix'.

The requirement for multiple chargers is:
"they are moved in simultaneously and must try to bring as many models into the fight"

The requirements for skirmishers charging is "follow the normal rules..." but this is the bit that makes this issue debatable:

"All models within charge range are moved individually and arranged into a fighting line"

The definition of fighting line is critical. Anyone knows where it is?:(
pg 21 uses the phrase "battle line" with no further clarifications.

Atrahasis
09-10-2006, 18:07
Skirmishers form up into ranks when in combat, and ranks do not allow back ranks to have more models than front ranks.

Also, we are told to form a fighting line. If there are gaps, it is no longer a fighting line.