PDA

View Full Version : Rule of burning iron

Latro_
10-10-2006, 14:27
excuse my noobness i am still learning fantasy. just wonder this:
if this spell is cast on say a character in a unit of knights.

say a unit of empire knights with a grand master, Does the grand master get look out sir?

as far as i can see from the rules he does not, since the attack does not state its self as being any form of missile weapon.

Just thinking, on 1+ save characters this spell is rather evil for its casting value.

Also does this spell enable you to say snipe standards and musicians or does the rule about other models picking standards up etc come into play here?

NakedFisherman
10-10-2006, 14:43
No, he doesn't get 'Look Out, Sir!'

The spell is not allowed to target musicians or standards. In fact, nothing can.

WLBjork
10-10-2006, 14:44
Another oversight by GW?

Rules as written, the character can be picked out without a Look Our Sir! save as the spell does not have a template.

Unit Standards and Musicians cannot be targetted.

NakedFisherman
10-10-2006, 14:48
Why would it be an oversight? It's intended to work that way.

Templates have nothing to do with Look Out, Sir! anymore, anyway.

mageith
10-10-2006, 14:50
excuse my noobness i am still learning fantasy. just wonder this:
if this spell is cast on say a character in a unit of knights.

say a unit of empire knights with a grand master, Does the grand master get look out sir?

See page 74:
Is it a "ranged attack"?
"have unique targeting rules"?
"allow a player to deliberately aim his shot at a character inside of a unit"?

It fits the first sentence, but doesn't fit the examples.

"missile weapon"?
"war machine that works in a different way"?
"use a template"?

as far as i can see from the rules he does not, since the attack does not state its self as being any form of missile weapon.

I agree its not a missile weapon as defined on page 57.