PDA

View Full Version : Chaos Ranking question.



spud75
10-10-2006, 23:38
Hello all,

Just started to play warhammer after playing 40k since first edition.

Question: Does a chaos character on a deamonic mount count as two models for rank bonus purposes in the same as a dwarf lord on the shield?

Or do I need 9 knights to get the rank bonus?

Thanks in advance.

TheWarSmith
10-10-2006, 23:44
He's still only one ranked model, so you'd need 9 more. As some advice, NEVER rank chaos knights. It's a complete waste of points.

The dwarf lord counts as 2 models for ranking because he's physically carried by 2 dwarf bases basically.

Kotobuki
11-10-2006, 05:40
I'm not sure how big the daemonic mount base is, but as a general rule, a model takes up as much room as his base takes up. meaning to get a rank bonus of just cavalry, you need 10 models (5x2). If the base of the Daemonic mount is 50x50, it then takes up the space of two models in the front rank, meaning you only need 8 other cavalry models to make up the 5x2 cavalry formation.

mageith
11-10-2006, 06:21
I'm not sure how big the daemonic mount base is, but as a general rule, a model takes up as much room as his base takes up.

Unfortunately there is no longer a general rule that effect. Hopefully GW will fix that in the forthcoming FAQ/errata.

TheWarSmith
11-10-2006, 06:32
Monstrous mounts(other than "large" mounts) are almost always 40x40, so they wouldn't take up the space of 2 cavalry bases(50x50).

If you put him on a large base, it'd work for me counting him as 2 models for rank purposes, but just be sure you don't give him that amulet of chaos which forces models in base to base to take tests, cause I'm not allowing that crap to fly.

But as I said, in the case of chaos, it REALLY shouldn't matter, as taking ranks of chaos cavalry is usually pretty dumb.

Falkman
11-10-2006, 07:12
Unfortunately there is no longer a general rule that effect. Hopefully GW will fix that in the forthcoming FAQ/errata.

How does that work with putting mounted generals among foot troops then?
Does the second rank need one extra model, since the mounted guy would only count as one model, and hence in the first row?
That would look really strange, having your second rank one model wider than all other ranks.

Neknoh
11-10-2006, 07:46
Check the FAQ on the GW webpage, in there, it is clearly stated that if a character is mounted on a large enough base to fill out more than one space, he counts as that many more models for the purposes of rank bonus, for instance, an Exalted on a Daemonic Steed of any kind (50x50 mm base) would count as 4 models for purposes of counting ranks in a unit of Marauders.

And yes, all Daemonic Steeds are on 50x50mm bases

Griefbringer
11-10-2006, 07:56
There is a slight problem in that FAQ being exactly the same one they published three years ago...

Festus
11-10-2006, 08:48
Hi

Which doesn't change the fact, that a model on a 40mm or 50mm base equals 4 normal US1 infantry or 2 cavalry in a formation, and a cavalrymodel takes up the space of two infantry models.

Festus

Shaitan
11-10-2006, 09:10
I second that ;)

Gorbad Ironclaw
11-10-2006, 09:52
Monstrous mounts(other than "large" mounts) are almost always 40x40, so they wouldn't take up the space of 2 cavalry bases(50x50).



Actually, the Chaos steeds goes on 50mm bases, precicely so they rank up with the troops.

Flame
11-10-2006, 10:07
Monstrous mounts(other than "large" mounts) are almost always 40x40, so they wouldn't take up the space of 2 cavalry bases(50x50).




I'm struggling to think of a monstrous mount that would usually go in a unit that doesnt go on a 50*50 base-

Chaos Demon steeds- 50*50
Stag- 50*50
Tyrion, Archaon- 50*50

Avian
11-10-2006, 10:23
Unicorns are on 40 mm bases.

With Morgianna in the bretonnian army this begs the question of how she would fit into a lance formation?

Shaitan
11-10-2006, 10:54
I would just place her in the unit as if she is 50X50.

The same goes for gobbo characters in orc units.

Festus
11-10-2006, 11:33
Hi

Yes, 20mm squares and 25mm squares are interchangable.

Easiest way:
Anything else is just a multiple of that US1 size. If the character is smaller (rare occurrance, but possible with infantry characters in cavalry or anything in a Ogre sized unit), he replaces one trooper....

Festus

mageith
11-10-2006, 15:36
How does that work with putting mounted generals among foot troops then?
Does the second rank need one extra model, since the mounted guy would only count as one model, and hence in the first row?
That would look really strange, having your second rank one model wider than all other ranks.
A model is a model and ranks count models and ranks have to have the same number of models and, yes, no matter what you do it looks really strange.

Or hopefully you have reasonable friends and hopefully tournament directors make it clear its OK.

spud75
11-10-2006, 17:33
So, to sum up so far. It's basically an agreement between opponents. I've read that old FAQ but thought it was for 6th ed.

sps62487
12-10-2006, 11:31
it was proven in (i believe) 2000
ya it may of been 6th edition but since its not in the book some would believe that it would now i cant tell you it is or isnt because it's going to be the people you play now if some higher-up like from white dwarf or a gamedesigner has more authority than someone who doesnt design the game or work on rules.

Shaitan
12-10-2006, 12:30
Ehm... actually I don't get it sps62487...

Crazy Harborc
12-10-2006, 21:37
I would just plop the needed (to keep the formation correct) size, base into the formation and place the minie/model onto it. A little blue/yellow or orange tackie to hold the extra base in place.;)