PDA

View Full Version : 2 sword= 2 parries?



Dark Apostle197
12-10-2006, 03:22
If this is totally obvious, sorry, and can you give me a page reference?

if I have two swords can I parry twice? If so, is it two dice to try to stop one attack, or can I attempt to stop 2 if I roll high enough?

athamas
12-10-2006, 03:52
this for necro?

if so, you get two parries, you can force a reroll of up to two die, but remember you can not reroll a reroll...

Dark Apostle197
12-10-2006, 03:59
Sorry, this is for mordheim.

TKitch
12-10-2006, 05:20
No it doesn't. Unless something has special rules, you may only ever get 1 parry. (So far the dwarf skill 'Master of Blades' is the only way to get 2 parries in the game.)

Unless you're going to get "Expert Swordsman" getting more than 1 sword is pointless.

Quick rundown:

Sword + weapon/shield = 1 parry
Sword + Buckler = Parry & Reroll
2 Swords = Parry
Buckler = Parry

Dark Apostle197
12-10-2006, 05:23
Ok, thank you. That clears it up nicely. Can I ask another question? With experience andvance/skill advance rules, how do you figure out when you advance? Is it the bold boxes on the roster pages? I can't see that making sense, cause that means main heroes start out with 7 skill advances.

Quin 242
12-10-2006, 05:28
As stated by TKitch. Please see page 36-37 of the Mordheim rulebook.

The only way I know to get two parries is as a Dwarf with "Master of Blades" skill. BONUS to that... with two dwarf axes you also get to re-roll failed parries. I love me some dwarfs :)

TKitch
12-10-2006, 18:47
the bolded boxes are there for advances.

however you do NOT get advances for starting XP. Your captain doesn't get 7 advances just for getting hired, the advances are in his statline already.

Dark Apostle197
12-10-2006, 21:56
ok, got it.