PDA

View Full Version : Is a Char on a Chariot Mounted?



SlaaneshSlave
14-10-2006, 15:55
Great Weapons are +1 Str "when used by mounted models as freedom of movement is considerably reduced."

Army Builder is now giving GW +1 Str when the Char is in a chariot. This doesn't seem mounted to me.

Is a chariot a mount?

Gekiganger
14-10-2006, 16:36
Ugh... We had this a while ago. I'd say it shouldn't stop him recieving +2 str but I know plenty of people will counter that.

WLBjork
14-10-2006, 16:41
Yes. The last paragraph on page 55 detailes what is meant by mounted - namely cavalry, on a monster mount or on a chariot.

Gorbad Ironclaw
14-10-2006, 16:50
A chariot is a mount, yes. Steed, monsters, chariots, all drops you to +1 str.

SlaaneshSlave
14-10-2006, 17:57
Yep, pg 55 is clear. Chariot is a mount.

Tutore
15-10-2006, 13:50
The new rules are sufficiently clear, this time!

Anaz
15-10-2006, 19:51
How about dwarf character with shield bearers? Is he mounted?

NakedFisherman
15-10-2006, 20:07
How about dwarf character with shield bearers? Is he mounted?

No. He's the biggest rules abomination this side of the Steam Tank.

Ganymede
16-10-2006, 04:39
Of course he is mounted, you don't need a seperate stat line for a mount to count as mounted... just look at the slann.

WLBjork
16-10-2006, 05:16
Nope, only Cav, Monster Mounts and Chariots - as defined on page 55.

DeathlessDraich
16-10-2006, 13:11
GW will have to include an errata if a Dwarf Lord with Shieldbearers is meant to be mounted. I don't think he should be categorized as mounted.
It is not a steed of any kind which is being mounted. What would the actual mount be in this case? 2 Dwarves, being "mounted" by a Lord - Hmmm, this conjures up strange visions - the lord is putting his great weapon to strange uses!:p

Revlid
16-10-2006, 13:24
No. He's the biggest rules abomination this side of the Steam Tank.

I thoroughly agree.

While we're on the subject of Chariots and Mounts, a mounted character can join an Infantry unit. is this the case with a Character mounted on a Chariot?

DeathlessDraich
16-10-2006, 13:27
Characters on chariots can join chariot units only, if I remember.

Avian
16-10-2006, 13:39
Yep. And this is only the case with Tomb King armies currently.

WLBjork
16-10-2006, 15:42
GW will have to include an errata if a Dwarf Lord with Shieldbearers is meant to be mounted. I don't think he should be categorized as mounted.
It is not a steed of any kind which is being mounted. What would the actual mount be in this case? 2 Dwarves, being "mounted" by a Lord - Hmmm, this conjures up strange visions - the lord is putting his great weapon to strange uses!:p

In point of fact, the Dwarf Army Book had been written at the time of the writing of 7th ed. so GW would (well, ok, this is GW - should) have included it from the outset, either by specifically calling it mounted in the Dwarf Army Book or by including it in the list on pg 55.

Ganymede
16-10-2006, 17:53
Wishful thinking jork. The fact remains that things can be considered mounted without following the rulebook's definition of mounted, the slann for instance.

SlaaneshSlave
16-10-2006, 23:43
Since a Chariot is a Mount, does this mean a Frenzied char on a Chariot makes the Chariot Frenzied also?

Think so. This means a Savage Orc Big Boss on a Boar Chariot would have
4 Str 6 Attacks &
4 Str 5 Attacks &
4 Str 4 Attacks
Before any magic kit... (just 1 extra crew)

metro_gnome
17-10-2006, 00:40
correct... except that bosses attacks are S5...
pig stikka pwns here...
add gnashas for 8x S6 killing blows :eek:

SlaaneshSlave
17-10-2006, 04:06
Warboss has Str 5
Big Boss with Great Axe is Str 6
Pig Stikka needs ranks, so no help with a char on chariot...

But, it is nice to see that the frenzy chariot is nasty at 164 points.

Toddums
17-10-2006, 07:07
Pig stikka gives extra attacks PER ENEMY RANK....

woytek
17-10-2006, 08:06
Warboss has Str 5
Big Boss with Great Axe is Str 6
Pig Stikka needs ranks, so no help with a char on chariot...

But, it is nice to see that the frenzy chariot is nasty at 164 points.

In chariot greatweapon is +1 str so that is strenght 5...

Pig stikka indeed works per enemy rank, great weapon nonetheless. A chariot has a charge range of 14", that's quite some distance for frenzy lone target, but still nice maybe...

metro_gnome
17-10-2006, 12:30
Warboss has Str 5
Big Boss with Great Axe is Str 6
Pig Stikka needs ranks, so no help with a char on chariot...

But, it is nice to see that the frenzy chariot is nasty at 164 points.
im sorry i don't follow any of this...
"warboss has S5"... true...
"Big boss with great axe is S6"... false... not when hes mounted...
are you trying to say "warboss with great axe is S6"?... because this is true...

but equiptment options were not listed in your previous example...
in hindsight there are three equiptment options that could have given the warboss S6:
1) A spear makes the mounted model S6
2) A GW makes the mounted model S6
3) you could have applied the choppa rules (incorrectly) to a mounted model...
given the fact that no other equiptment was stated... i had assumed number 3... which was incorrect...

in the meantime the pig stikka adds plus one attack for enemy rank bonus... Not just ranks...
so my example is against a fully ranked unit... for perhaps the most dramatic effect...
the jury is out on whether the stikka gives more bonus attacks if the unit has magically added rank bonus...
i believe theres an empire banner or something that does that...
it also counts as a spear... hence the S6 attacks...

SlaaneshSlave
17-10-2006, 13:51
Man! I forgot the rule that started the post! I gave the Big Boss +2 Str because of the great weap.

<----- Dopey

But, thanks for the stikka clairification. I couldn't see how it was worth anything if it needed my ranks.

hertz
17-10-2006, 14:22
So, A character mounted in a chariot may utilize a lance. nice!

metro_gnome
17-10-2006, 14:30
if he can buy one as part of his profile... yeah sure...
i personally cant think of an example...

hertz
17-10-2006, 14:32
High elves lords can, I recall

I have one model like that, that been awaiting finnishing touches for over a year now.