PDA

View Full Version : Beastmen Raiders question



Alathir
15-10-2006, 10:07
Quick question here... do Beastmen raiders negate enemy rank bonuses?

Gorbad Ironclaw
15-10-2006, 10:15
No. They are still skirmishers.

Alathir
15-10-2006, 16:33
This is definite? I have heard a few people say because they can rank up themselves they negate others rank bonus.

T10
15-10-2006, 16:38
Then fortunately only a few people have got it wrong.

The Raiders function exactly like Skirmishers with a few exceptions, none of which grant them the ability to negate rank bonuses.

-T10

gortexgunnerson
15-10-2006, 21:18
That is fantastic news, I was actually talking about this point earlier today and my friend told me they were raiders and not skirmisher and hence could be if it function exactly with exceptions then no nasty rank removal

laughingman
16-10-2006, 06:06
they do negate ranks, look it up.

mageith
16-10-2006, 06:12
they do negate ranks, look it up.
Well, laughingman, give us a page number where you think this is indicated.

What I read on BOC 18 is "They are treated like skirmishers, with the following exceptions:" None of the exceptions provide the ability to break ranks.

Lyquis
16-10-2006, 06:15
they do negate ranks, look it up.

No they don't, look it up.

Khorneflakes
16-10-2006, 06:37
beastmen do not remove rank bonuses as they are skirmishers, however they are the only skirmishers who get rank bonuses.

Alathir
17-10-2006, 08:46
Ok cool... unfortunatley my friend is as stubborn as they come. Can anyone find any offical explanation?

Atrahasis
17-10-2006, 11:35
Ok cool... unfortunatley my friend is as stubborn as they come. Can anyone find any offical explanation?

There is no need for one beyond the rules for skirmishers and the rules for raiders.

Have him show you where it says that Raiders do negate ranks, the burden of proof is on him, as you (I hop[e) have already pointed out to him that raiders are skirmishers with only a few exceptions, none of which are negating ranks.

Alathir
17-10-2006, 12:40
Ok thanks. Next I see him, I'll make sure he is made aware.

T10
18-10-2006, 07:53
You can turn the table on him and ask him to find where it is states that denying rank enemy bonus is tied up with the unit's ability to have rank bonuses themselves.

- Fast cavalry can deny enemy rank bonuses but do not get any rank bonus themselves.
- Skirmishers can't can deny enemy rank bonuses and do not get any rank bonus themselves.

-T10

Alathir
18-10-2006, 07:57
Good idea, thanks for the help guys. I thought those Raiders were way too effective.

Lord Zarkov
18-10-2006, 17:25
It is even more amusing when the unit the raiders is charging is not wide enough to give them a frontage of more than 4; then they still get no rank bonus

T10
19-10-2006, 07:07
Cracks me up every time. Just like when that celebrity realises he's been Punk'd!

-T10