PDA

View Full Version : Mage casting in chariots.



Seth81
15-10-2006, 17:28
If I mount a mage in a chariot, where do I measure from when checking range for spells?

The mage itself or the front of the base.

Same for crew with longbows.

Also can I still cast LOS spells in combat?

Flame
15-10-2006, 17:38
The chariot is on a single base, so measure from the front of the base, or the side closest to you target.

Gorbad Ironclaw
15-10-2006, 18:32
Also can I still cast LOS spells in combat?


Since you won't have LoS to anything, no.

Seth81
15-10-2006, 18:32
Beat me to it, thanks.

eldrak
15-10-2006, 18:42
I think your mage also only has LOS from the front of the chariot when not in combat. It might limit his casting a bit.

(you might want to edit that 2nd post of yours as they were posted the same minute)

NakedFisherman
15-10-2006, 19:06
Since you won't have LoS to anything, no.

I see this pop up a lot. Perhaps I've missed it again and again.

Where is it stated that units in combat have no line of sight?

Festus
15-10-2006, 19:08
Hi

Since you won't have LoS to anything, no.
Why do you not have LoS?

If the only requirement is that you have LoS , see if you can draw LoS. See LoS, p.8f.

Festus

Seth81
15-10-2006, 19:09
Also logically a mage ( or crew with longbows ) would have 360 LOS for spells/shooting.

NakedFisherman
15-10-2006, 19:23
Also logically a mage ( or crew with longbows ) would have 360 LOS for spells/shooting.

No. See the rules for chariots.

Gorbad Ironclaw
15-10-2006, 19:37
Hi

Why do you not have LoS?

If the only requirement is that you have LoS , see if you can draw LoS. See LoS, p.8f.

Festus


As I remember it came about as a consequence of asking if units in combat would suffer from a casket of souls if they could see it. Was ruled that units in combat didn't had LoS to anything, focusing there attention on the combat.

Although in a quick look I can't seem to find anything much on LoS at all in the rulebook.

EvC
15-10-2006, 19:39
Logically yes, but actually, no. I hate the fact you can't do drive-bys with chariots and shoot from the side, but never mind!

NakedFisherman
15-10-2006, 19:50
Logically yes, but actually, no. I hate the fact you can't do drive-bys with chariots and shoot from the side, but never mind!

Tomb Kings' chariots can.

Festus
15-10-2006, 20:02
Hi

Tomb Kings' chariots can.
Well, yes, they are fast cav, after all...

Festus