PDA

View Full Version : Stone throwers and mounted heroes...



intellectawe
27-10-2006, 18:00
Quick Q while im heading out the door...


If my Stone Thriower rocks lands ontop of a elf prince rider atop a dragon, would BOTH models take the str 8 hit?

Atrahasis
27-10-2006, 18:03
No, the centre hit is randomised, as outlined in the rules for monstrous mounts and stone throwers.

TheWarSmith
27-10-2006, 19:07
I'm at work, but i'm almost POSITIVE this changed, and it specifically states that template weapons will hit the rider AND dragon.

Latro
27-10-2006, 19:10
I'm at work, but i'm almost POSITIVE this changed, and it specifically states that template weapons will hit the rider AND dragon.

... that's a hint :D

TheWarSmith
27-10-2006, 19:19
meaning? I don't want to go on record saying it's 100%, but I KNOW i read something and have heard discussion on template weapons hitting everything that's under them, mount and rider. I'll check it when I get home.

Festus
27-10-2006, 19:44
Hi

BRB p.61: WarSmith is wong, Atrahasis is right: The BigHit has to be randomized, even if both (Monster and Rider) are hit by the template.

The latter has been changed in this edition (it only was possible to hit either rider or mount in the last edition).

Festus

TheWarSmith
27-10-2006, 19:51
OH, that's what you meant. You were referring to the double strength hit. I was half right I guess. I thought he was asking if only one model would get hit, period, but he's only asking if the double S hit goes to one or both, right?

So one would take S8 and one would take S4, right? Randomize the S8 and deal the S4 to whoever didn't get the S8?

Festus
27-10-2006, 20:10
Hi

That is correct.

Festus

intellectawe
28-10-2006, 05:07
Thank you guys for your help.

eldrak
29-10-2006, 01:15
The order of of doing things here can be important too if not the whole model is covered.
Check which parts are hit first on 4+, if only one is hit that one takes the double strength, if both (I'm assuming monster with one rider here) are hit randomize it between them, if none are hit randomize which one of them which will be hit with double strength.

Festus
29-10-2006, 07:53
Hi

Why don't you do it easier if only partially covered including the BigHit:

Decide, who gets the BigHit, and the other one will take an additional hit on 4+. Just two dice to roll...

Festus

TheWarSmith
29-10-2006, 07:53
If you hit a lord on dragon and the hole is on top, but it's still not covering, is the model hit on 4+, or does the hole make it an automatic hit?

Festus
29-10-2006, 07:58
Hi

It is an automatic hit (for at least one part of the model, as outlined above), as given on p.93, BRB, left column *Damage*

Festus

eldrak
29-10-2006, 16:27
Hi

Why don't you do it easier if only partially covered including the BigHit:

Decide, who gets the BigHit, and the other one will take an additional hit on 4+. Just two dice to roll...

Festus

Because then you get 50% chance to hit both compared to 25% otherwise.