PDA

View Full Version : Champions in Skirmisher units

Necro Angelo
30-10-2006, 19:27
I've been playing a few games with Wood Elves recently, and as they're upcoming and first Fantasy army I thought that it would be worth asking for the sake of tactics, is it worth purchasing the champion for a unit of dryads or wardancers? I mean for a Branch Nymph you can get a whole extra dryad, and all the nymph does is give you an extra attack... but it can still be singled out by enemy attacks and you might just be wasted before you even get to use that extra attack. Same goes for wardancers I guess. The only benefit I can see is if you're up against a weak army like goblins or skaven you can use the challenge to deprive them of their champions extra attack, as they'd fear the overkill. Hmm maybe I sound a little cocky... but are there any wood elf pros here who can give me an oppinion? Like I said, I'm fairly new to fantasy and I was wondering if that champion could make all the difference between a lost combat and a win.

Murderous Monkey
30-10-2006, 23:01
Champions can also be handy for stopping a nasty combat character decimating your unit. Suppose an exalted champion is baby-sitting some Marauders and your wardancers are engaging them.

If he's got the helm of many eyes your wardancers might disappear before they cut those marauders to pieces... so you challenge, sacrifice the unit champion and then slice up enough marauders with you wardancers (and maybe another charging unit) for it not to matter.

Also magnificent if you plan to run a character of your own with the unit to stop anyone blocking your character from decimating the rank and file.

Conclusion: Champions are useful things for lots of comat units and look cool... but are hardly essential.

EDIT: Note that I've never played wood elves so this is just general advice. Also, I'd have a wardancer champion because the two swords model is just amazing.

zak
30-10-2006, 23:07