PDA

View Full Version : Chariots and night goblin netters

Entreri Bloodletter
01-11-2006, 03:33
If a chariot charges into a unit of night goblins with nets, do the impact hits get resolved with -1 strength as well as the attacks from the crew/steeds?

The OG book says nets happen at the start of the close combat phase.
The rulebook says impact hits happen at the beginning of the combat.

Which happens first?

Slann mage Tokes
01-11-2006, 04:36
To me, the start and the beginning are the same....

So I would say yes both get -1 strength,
But I am no rules lawyer....

woytek
01-11-2006, 11:28
Damn all these weird questions popping up... I would find it weird because impact hits are resolved before any combat. So I say no.

Festus
01-11-2006, 12:59
Hi

Damn all these weird questions popping up... I would find it weird because impact hits are resolved before any combat. So I say no.
So do models equipped with HW/Shield get their bonus save against chariot impact hits? :angel:

woytek
01-11-2006, 13:32
Hi

So do models equipped with HW/Shield get their bonus save against chariot impact hits? :angel:

Don't ask me, ask your rulebook! :rolleyes:

Baindread
01-11-2006, 18:59
Hi

IIRC the official 6th ed. FAQ regarding this matter was that they did get a save versus that.

DeathlessDraich
01-11-2006, 19:23
There is only the smallest distinction in the rules, probably just enough to allow impact hits before 'netting' and therefore without -1 for impact hits:

BRB pg 63 Impact hits: ..."are inflicted at the very beginning of combat"

and more importantly "... and before any model gets to attack"*

O&G pg 24 Netters: "At the start of each combat phase ..."

*Using the net is part of the Netters 'attack'? - maybe.

mattjgilbert
01-11-2006, 19:27
Well it sounds reasonable enough, the nets would clog up wheels and get tied up in beasts feet etc. I can't think of anything that would stop them ruleswise. Same for swords/shields - you'd get your save.