PDA

View Full Version : Mounted Characters in Infantry Units

IronNerd
22-11-2006, 19:35
First, I understand this is legal (I'm new at the Fantasy stuff), correct? Assuming so, is it a commonly done thing. My specific example is my Orc Warboss. By putting him on a boar he gets +2 armour and the boars attack too. Additionally, he could break away from the unit and charge something by himself, which I could see being potentially usefull. So, how many people do this? Does it work?

Thargrund
22-11-2006, 19:58
1) yes its legal
2) not very common
3) not very good unless you havent got the mnodels to put him in a cavalry unit
4) pointless of you are going to give him the extra movement and not use it
5) imo just no, please : )

Morgrin
22-11-2006, 20:07
I can't recall if that rule was changed in 7ed, but in 6th ed that meant that he could be singled out as a target even inside the unit.

luckyguy
22-11-2006, 20:10
It was changed in 7th. I believe models in a unit can not be targeted unless they are US 5 or greater.

Thargrund
22-11-2006, 20:10
i havent really read up on this, because it never applies tome or my opponents, but thats another reason NOT to use this tactic :)

Mephistofeles
22-11-2006, 21:04
They cannot be singled out anymore.

I use this for my Battle Standard Bearer, just to give him the extra save which I would like him to get by magical protection but cannot give him.

It's good for armour save purposes, bur not for much more actually. The extra move might feel "potentially usefull" but it rarely is.

Da GoBBo
22-11-2006, 21:25
Indeed, still a very valid use of yer boars and I think we will see a lot of this. Ye need all the armour ye can get.

Latro
22-11-2006, 21:49
Let's see ...

- it gives extra armour
- it gives an extra attack (in some cases even multiple attacks)
- it pays for itself by replacing additional models in the unit
- it gives the character a longer charge-reach
- it can give a unit several fear-benefits