PDA

View Full Version : Bones' 6,000 point Fire Hawks Convert-stravaganza!

Bonesthedog
02-12-2006, 07:45
Well, I figured I needed to get a project log going to motivate and get feedback from the wonderous forum community. Some may know me from the B&C (Prolly not), and some may have seen my nutty librarian I posted on here. So, let me explain the project.

A couple years ago, I bought a decent sized Space Marine army, assembled the whole lot, then really just lost interest. Coincidently, Warcraft came out about then. Hmm....

So, after a jumpstart back into the hobby, and a couple of steals from ebay, i have a force ready to be hacked apart, converted, painted, and some day, played with. I am an artist, and while my main focus is stuff like working with stone, pencils, clay, wood, and metal, I have some painting experience under my belt and I certainly am what you would call a handyman. So...let me lay out the goals of this project.

I'm looking at getting about 106 marines painted, along with 7 tanks, 3 bikes, and 3 dreads. Quite alot of work.

Main goals:

*Each marine to have a dynamic and conveying pose. What i mean by that is, i want you to feel you are looking at 7 foot tall men, with enoumous suits of heavy armour on with guns that fire explosive rounds. (And dont forget the acid spitting!)

*Each marine to have a truscale conversion. Be it spacing with plasticard, Doghouse pattern using the chaos legs, or sculpting and casting larger parts, I want the marines to not look....stubby.

*An attempt to do an update a day, or at least every couple days. College takes up time, but if i can covert one mini a day, ill be quite pleased.

*Lava bases!

*A flame, or firery theme. They are the Fire Hawks, precursers to the Leigon of the Damned, so they cant look all happy go lucky.

*Decent weathering. Nothing annoys me more than shiny marines. I want my marines to look worn and beaten.