PDA

View Full Version : Will 7th ed. make or break WFB?

Gabacho Mk.II
08-07-2005, 08:18
Have been thinking about this for quite a whiles now:

I have been gaming WFB for nearly 12 years or so. Through these many years, I have seen many differing companies other than GW come and go. But now, the trends seem to support (IMO) that the gaming public is well aware of the many changes in tabletop gaming, such as the many new fantasy gaming rules/games now available.

Having said all of this, I believe that the upcoming WFB 7th ed will, in many ways, end up either 'making' or 'breaking' GW's Warhammer Fantasy Battle.

Maybe that is a bit too harsh. A better way to put it is to say that GW's hold on fantasy tabletop gaming will suffer a serious setback (and I might argue - loss of followers) if 7th ed. doesn't quite deliver.

Any thoughts on this matter?

FlameKnight
08-07-2005, 08:42
I don't really agree. GW wouldn't really screw up the game that much. Even if the new edition just compiled all of the revisions, it would still be good enough. Warhammer fantasy is just about the only popular fantasy game, and people wouldn't just get up and leave.

Look at what happened with the new 40k rules; they weren't THAT much of an improvement, but they still drew in more customers.

So, I don't think a new edition will "make or break" the game.

Karhedron
08-07-2005, 08:46
I agree with FlameKnight, 7th edition will be evolutionary but not revolutionary. 7th edition is supposedly like 4th edition 40K in that it is a minor release with all the old army books still usable. I seriously doubt they will change anything that will alienate existing players. Possibly they will release a new starter set to help them hook more kiddies, that is about it.

Personally I just hope they clarify the rulebook slightly and make some modest revisions to the magic system (no more Magehammer please).

Eldacar
08-07-2005, 09:09