PDA

View Full Version : Special Characters

gORCUS
07-12-2006, 01:05
I'm fairly new to warhammer, I got started in the middle of sixth edition, and when it comes to this hobby, I do a lot more painting and converting than I do playing. When I do play, I've heard from a lot of folks that using special characters is lame, and since joining Warseer, it seems that a lot of members share that same sentiment.

I guess I'm just curious as to why that is. I've never seen anything wrong with them, other than the fact that they were very expensive points-wise until now with the release of the seventh edition. I particularly like special characters that change the whole feel of an army, like Skrag the Slaughterer for the ogres (another group that seems to draw a bit of hostility in some threads), because they give you more options and more depth. Not that I'm against generic characters and developing your own backround, I just don't dislike special characters.

So what's the deal with them?

greenskin
07-12-2006, 02:55
I just think most people fathers didn't hug them enough.

eldrak
07-12-2006, 03:53
Some players simple doesn't find it fun to play a game whose outcome is decided by the performance of a single model.

They are often not playtested/balanced enough and i think they work better in games that are designed around them, like Confrontation.

07-12-2006, 04:14
People think they are overpowered.

me I find them fun as long as you both know you can (but I play for fun not so much winning)

I find that most people who try them forget half their magic items or special abilities (especially the ones with 2 or 3 pages of rules)

Briscoe
07-12-2006, 05:09
I get the feeling that most players feel like a customized basic heroes and lords are more efficient point for point in getting them to work the way you need them to in your army. The fact that many special characters are kinda cost prohibative unless you're in a pretty large game makes them less played I think.