PDA

View Full Version : How to use Empire Captains (On Foot) best

kobraburdz
24-12-2006, 23:35
Anyway I just started playing WHFB as the Empire and Ive already ordered a small force of about 500pts of troops to get me started and 2 Captains which are composed of these guys
http://uk.games-workshop.com/storefront/store.uk?do=Individual&code=WEB023&orignav=300808 (The Guy on the left)

http://uk.games-workshop.com/storefront/store.uk?do=Individual&code=99061102056&orignav=300808
(Guy on foot)

So I was wondering what you guys think the best use for Empire Captains on foot is and I also have some questions on what to equip them with.

Is it good to give them pistols? (They just look cool when they have them and they have bs 5....)

Do I go crazy on his wargear and buy him fullplate, shield, etc. or just keep him cheap as possible?

What magic weapons are best? (I currently have my eye on the sword of sigismund)

Are they better on foot or mounted?

FlameKnight
25-12-2006, 00:11
Always buy fullplate and shield when you don't take magic armour; it's cheap and effective.

At 500 points you're probably best off just taking a greatsword; it's far, far better value for money than most magic weapons. You might consider taking a ward save for your general though, as long as you can spare the points.

vorac
25-12-2006, 00:17
Well imo they are much better mounted with the possibility of having a mundane 1+ save, and i wouldn't bother with any magic weapons as they neither have a great strength or a lot of attacks, when it comes to the empire your characters should take magic items that help the troops, like the rod of command, the griffon banner on a bsb, sigil of sigmar, icon of magnus.

TKitch
25-12-2006, 04:10
at 500 points, I'd either go with a greatsword (only if on foot) or the sword of might for a few more points (almost guaranteed if mounted.)