PDA

View Full Version : Ballistic Skill: To Hit score ?????

VainEnd
27-12-2006, 01:42
I am new to the Warhammer Fantasy game and have just got the rule book and am attempting to learn the rule before really starting any armies although I am interested in orc's and Slaneshie Chaos, any ways I digress. I have run in to a problem understanding the "Ballistic Skill: To Hit score." For BS 6 you need a minimum D6 role of 1 but any role of one is an automatic miss, that one I can figure out on my own, however for BS 7 you need a 0 .. um no 0 on a D6 for, BS 8 you need -1 for 9 you need -2 and for BS 10 you need -3 but it doesn't explain how you get a 0, -1, -2, -3, if any one can help me out it would be great! Because I am all :wtf: and :confused:

Any help is appreciated

Stouty
27-12-2006, 01:54
Well no matter how good a shot you are a 1 will always fail; you need 2+

The importance of being an even higher BS is that once you start adding in modifiers your chances of hitting drop dramatically.

For example, 2 models are shooting at a unit of skirmishers at long range and in hard cover. 1 of them is BS 5 and one is BS 10. (a +4 modifier)

For the BS 5 model it is 6s to hit (2+4=6)

For the BS 10 model it is 1s to hit (-3+4), but since a 1 always fails he is effectively hitting on 2s.

So while on easy shots it makes little difference on the tougher ones it comes into play more.

VainEnd
27-12-2006, 01:58
man, I totally get it now, thank you so much

T10
27-12-2006, 11:05
That's great, because Stouty seems to have taken some shortcuts with his math. The conclusion is correct, though.

A shot at a skirmisher in hard cover at long range has a -4 penalty to hit, not a +4. Now, GW likes to apply the modifiers to the roll itself, though I personally count penalty to the BS.