PDA

View Full Version : Warhammer 40k for Dummies.

Paladin-01
29-12-2006, 02:52
Okay, As I said in my Introduction thread, I'm completely new to WH40k. I basically know only what can be learned from the webcomic Turn Signals On a Land Raider, and some of the stuff from Wikipedia. So I know a fair bit of fluff, but aside from that, jack.

I'm very interested in getting into the game, but I really don't know much about the different armies and play styles, and every place I've gone on the web (including here, sorry) is not built idiot-friendly. I would just get a book on it, but all the books I see are VERY army specific. I am going to be obtaining a Battle for Macgragge starter kit soon, but I hear its VERY bare bones.

Now I'm not asking for a whole lot, but I am curious about the differences between the armies. I hear each army has its own "feel", both in fluff, style, strategy, and rules. Hopefully I'm not out of line asking for a description of these feels before I pick one :P

Brother Antonios
29-12-2006, 02:58
Pretty much they all feel like plastic, with some metal. Daemonhunters all feel like metal, except for Dreadnaughts and Vehicles. :p

Instead of rewriting whats already been writting just browse the Tactica forum for posts like Tactica Orks, Tactica Eldar, Tactica Daemonhunters, you may have use the sites search features but that's not so hard.

Acolyte
29-12-2006, 03:02
First of all, welcome to the game, mang. Warseer is about your best resource online for anything 40K related since, if it's been done, someone has probably posted it on here, sometime.

Anyways, the Macragge set is an excellent start, and includes a breif overview of each army. The army-specific books contain all of their rules, and are mandatory to play said army. However, the starters don't do a whole lot to cover the playstyles of each army. However, check on the website and the tactics forum for a good general overview.

Paladin-01
29-12-2006, 03:03