PDA

View Full Version : [BFG]Close Formation Rule?



Earlydawn
29-12-2006, 03:02
Hi everybody. I'm looking at the rules for the Ramiles Star Fort.. it says that the rules for something called "close formation" are on page 158. Which book? I've looked at Pg. 158 of Armada and I'm seeing rules for torpedo bombers and space mines. Anybody know where to find it?

ReDavide
29-12-2006, 07:46
Looks like it didn't make it into Armada.

If you have the Annual 2002, the massed turret fire rules are there on page 65.

It allows ships to help each other defend against ordnance at the expense of being more vulnerable to direct-fire weapons.

Shinnentai
29-12-2006, 10:40
Like mixed fighter/bomber waves, this is one of the rules that has not really made it into the FAQ and errata files in its entirety, despite having been an official part of the game for four years ( good job SG! :wtf: ). Although it is referred to in the errata file under ordnance :

http://www.specialist-games.com/battlefleetgothic/faq.asp

It also used to be in an article at Port Maw which appears to have disappeared since their site re-design.

In so far as I can remember, the rule allows ships in base-to-base contact with a ship being attacked by ordnance to support it by adding one of their turrets to attempting to knock down the ordnance.

So for example, if two Sword class frigates were in base-to-base contact with a Dauntless class light cruiser which came under attack from a bomber squadron, the Dauntless would be able to roll three dice to try to knock down the bombers with turret fire ( 1 from its own turret, 1 from each Sword ). It would still only deduct 1 from any attack run rolls though.

Note that ships that are crippled or braced cannot lend turrets in this way, and that lending turrets counts towards firing at either torps or attack craft for the turn, so in the previous example neither the Swords or the Dauntless would then be able to fire upon torps with their turrets ( and the Swords would not have been able to lend any turrets if they had previously fired upon torps with those turrets in the same turn ).

I'm pretty hazy on the disadvantage of massing turrets, but I think that it is if one ship in the clumped together 'massing turrets' formation suffers a shield downed from enemy fire, they all do.

Not to worry though - we're getting a revised rulebook this January which I trust will clear all of this up :D .

ArtificerArmour
29-12-2006, 13:40
I've still got the WD it was in originally, its such an important expansion I'm suprised it wasn't included.

Earlydawn
31-12-2006, 08:27
While we're talking about rules lost in the warp, anybody know anything about the advanced torpedo rules?

Shinnentai
31-12-2006, 10:32
While we're talking about rules lost in the warp, anybody know anything about the advanced torpedo rules?
If you mean the rules for the different types of torps, they did make it into Armada, and so can be found here :

http://www.specialist-games.com/battlefleetgothic/rulebook.asp

The last few pages of the article entitled 'There is only war'.

Earlydawn
31-12-2006, 19:58
It was listed in the big book of rules that were published in non-rulebook literature. I think it was in warp storm. Anybody know?

And I hate to ask for something that may be copyrighted, but could somebody post up the full rules for close formation? My logic is that it's an official rule, and the official book is free. I only ask because I'm starting up a Navy vs Eldar campaign soon and I would really love it if we could use the rule.

Does anybody know for sure if it'll be in 1.5, anyway?

ReDavide
01-01-2007, 20:56
After poking around a bit, I found the massed turret rules in this FAQ:
http://www.specialist-games.com/battlefleetgothic/assets/faq/BFG154a.pdf

Second-to-last bullet under the Ordnance section.

It's essentially just as Shinnentai described, though maybe seeing it worded two different ways will help clear it up for you.

Shinnentai
15-01-2007, 17:54
That isn't the full rule though ReDavide, it's just clarifying the rule as written since it assumes players have access to the rule. I refer to this in the first para of my post above.

IncrediSteve
01-02-2007, 18:04
In the 1.5 revision, something potetinally nasty cropped up.

Under the "Turrets vs Ordinance" box, it says that ships in base contact can add their turrets together, and this is the new wording for Massed Turrets.

By RAW, wouldn't that mean If I put 3 swords in Base to base, all 3 of them would have turret Value 6?[!] It doesn't say how you add them, or that only one can gain one turret from each.

I may have missed it, but I never saw a drawback mentioned in the rules either. [before, didn't you take a hit to all of their shields if a blast marker was placed?]

Granted most of 1.5 is saddly garbage rulings that wont see much use [and the oversized .pdfs are much larger and taxing on your system, yet are no different in quality].

What are the general thoughts on this?

ReDavide
02-02-2007, 10:00
Under the "Turrets vs Ordinance" box, it says that ships in base contact can add their turrets together, and this is the new wording for Massed Turrets.

By RAW, wouldn't that mean If I put 3 swords in Base to base, all 3 of them would have turret Value 6?[!] It doesn't say how you add them, or that only one can gain one turret from each.

Er... in my copy it does.

You've quoted part of the sentence: "Ships in base contact may mass turrets together," but the sentence doesn't end there- "...each increasing the the turret strength of a ship under attack by 1."

IncrediSteve
02-02-2007, 16:55
Ah, okay, glad I was just being delusional.

Still no drawback though, but then again +1 turret from each is balanced out just by the principle of being an easy target for Torpedoes. You're more likely to survive them, but then more can hit all of the ships in B2B.