PDA

View Full Version : Dangerous Strategy: Maths on the tabletop

feintstar
12-07-2005, 08:37
I'm relatively new to WHFB, but while I was wracking my brains over how to beat a Brettonian player whose reputation precedes him, I thought of an interesting way of stacking the odds.

A tabletop is 48" wide, with 24" between the deployment zones. Assuming my opponent rightly sees me as a noob, (and assuming I have deployed further back into my Dep. Zone with infantry) he moves 16" at a march into the space between the 2 forces. this places him 8" away from my deployment zone.

Now my screen of archers, spears and skirmishers is placed 4" from the edge of my zone, and the battle units 3.2" behind that. (measure it on deployment) He charges the front, then I can flee with the skirmishers, leaving him stranded, ready for my charge. The reason he might take the bait is that, like most players, he's "overmoved" his units by a fraction, and thinks he can redirect into the rear units. However, once you point out the maths, then there is no way he cannot be in no-mans land, ready to receive my charge (elves with a 10" charge, btw.)

If he moves less than his maximum distance, it will only be by say, 3" at most. In which case, he'll be open for more shooting/magic, and you can reposition your own troops to maintain the formation and the trap. (after all, it's easy to watch him measure the distance he has moved, then redo the maths, and reposition accordingly)

Pegasus Knights are an obvious spanner in the works, and therefore priority targets, but with 2 turns of shooting and magic, limited numbers could be dealt with.