PDA

View Full Version : First WE Attempt - 2000 pts

northwoodDreamer
30-12-2006, 21:25
This is my first attempt at a Wood Elf list, and I won't be able to try it out for a while and am just beginning collecting, so I can still tinker a lot. Here it is:

1 Highborn w/ Great Eagle. Also w/ The Spear of Twilight, The Helm of the Hunt, Stone of Crystal Mere, Light Armor, Shield.

1 Noble. BSB w/ Amour of the Fey

1 Spellsinger w/ Level 2, Calaignor's Stave

1 Spellsinger w/ Level 2

10 Glade Guard

10 Glade Guard

8 Dryads

23 Eternal Guard w/ Full Command

8 Wardancers

8 Wardancers

5 Waywatchers

1 Treeman

I know a lot of you will say to drop the eagle for the highborn, but I love the model and am making fluff for him. So he's staying.

mightygnoblar
30-12-2006, 23:37
This seems like a balanced list that has the potential to do well, however i warn you that it will be notoriously difficult to play with as your only fast unit is your your lord will not be able to venture into enemy territory alone without being shot out of the sky, plus his role should really be to support the main bulk of your army with leadership etc, since you said that he is staying i would suggest changing the list to be much more speed orientated in order to make best use of his ablities, find room for some warhawks, wildriders and maybe another eagle for a rare choice
i would also change the magic item set up of your lord, something like this i believe would be more effective:
bow of loren, arcane bodkins, stone of crystal mere and an enchanted shield, this way you would be able to threaten potentially any enemy unit on the battlefield with 4 shots a turn ignoring saves plus you would be a bit more protected from enemy fire
I would also say that your magic phase is going to be difficult to make effective due to a moderate amount of power dice plus you are lacking in magic defence and so are going to be suceptible to the enemy magic

northwoodDreamer
30-12-2006, 23:54