PDA

View Full Version : Mounted Characters joining units of unmounted troops

kobraburdz
30-12-2006, 23:37
Hi, Im really new to the WHFB hobby and just started out maybe a month ago and I have a question on characters who are mounted to joining a regiment of unmounted infantry

In this thread that I started some weeks ago http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61953 people say that its completely OK to do it, but Im not sure in how it will work and I have some questions on what the rules allow.

If I stick him in a mordheim base is that fair? I checked the GW base chart and Im not really sure how big mordheim bases are....

I also have the small WHFB rulebook (The on in battle for skull pass) but I cant find the part in the book where it says mounted characters can join regiments of unmounted infantry (Though I remember reading it somewhere...I think).

Thx

Morgrin
31-12-2006, 00:04
What's a Mordheim base? Cavalry models go on cavalry bases, 25x50mm.

Mr_Rose
31-12-2006, 00:07
In the LRB, on pages 74&75, there are multiple references to the unit strength of a character inside a unit which also refer to the character possibly being mounted. Additionally, the rules for a character joining a unit on pp72-73 have a list of what sort of units a character may join and what sort of character may not join a unit. No special exceptions are made for the character potentially having a different base size or otherwise standing out from the unit.

Atrahasis
31-12-2006, 00:13
How exactly the unit will rank up is left to our imagination, however.

kobraburdz
31-12-2006, 00:25
Well according to one of the guys in the other thread "Empire Captains on foot" theres a guy there who says its better to put mounted characters on mordheim cavalry bases.

Sashu
31-12-2006, 01:40
Well according to one of the guys in the other thread "Empire Captains on foot" theres a guy there who says its better to put mounted characters on mordheim cavalry bases.