PDA

View Full Version : dwarfs just starting out

gill
01-01-2007, 01:47
well im just starting out in wfb my bro is goin for orcs and goblins and im goin for the dwarfs, i currently have 20 warriors, 10 thunderes, 8 miners, dragon slayer, cannon and a thane ( just what came in battle for skull pass) im looking for quite a shooty army backed up with some tough cc to defend my units.

ok first question:
quarellers (sp) or thunderers or rangers

second question:
hammers or ironbreakers.

last questions
slayers or not?

Coragus
01-01-2007, 05:16
ok first question:
quarellers (sp) or thunderers or rangers

second question:
hammers or ironbreakers.

last questions
slayers or not?

I love using thunderers, but the guy I play with the most uses a lot of Chaos knights. I basically try to support the thunderers with the quarellers, and I have two units of each.

I love the hammerers. Their stubbornness is very importants, as are their great weapons. Take a Lord, place him in a hammerers unit, and kill at will.

I have a unit of Slayers, but I've never used them. I tend toward a very shooty Dwarf list with units of infantry to beat the heck out of softened up units.

Use the miners as dwarfs with great weapons. I have a unit each of great weapon warriors and hand weapon/shield warriors, and the great weapons have consistently done the best for me. I have a unit of miners, and when I play them as miners, they tend to die. They are handicapped by not being able to do anything on the turn they come in on.

zak
01-01-2007, 10:13
1. If your looking for a shooty army then rangers are not really what your looking for. They maybe able to march block a bit, but are expensive and the points are best spent elsewhere. Quarrellers are good, but thunderers are better. The extra +1 to hit is invaluable.
2. Hammerers all the way, due to their stubborness rule. The Ironbreakers get the best save, but it almost impossible to remove hammerers.